Wk 14-EC-Jane’s Walk

So, I went to the 888 seafood restaurant to look for you, but I did not see you inside. So I waited outside until about 11:20 and still didn’t see you. I also walked around a bit to see if I can find you. I ended up giving up so I left. Although, I did not know much about Jan Jacobs before until now. She had an influential book “The Death and Life of Great American Cities” which argued that the urban renewal didn’t respect the needs of most city dwellers. I read that the book also introduced sociological concepts such as “eyes on the street ” and “social capital”. She was well known in organizing the grassroots, which uses the people in a given district as the basis for a political or economic movements. She thought it was wicked to be a victim. Jane Jacobs came along and they realized so many costs that they never really thought about, such as when it came to buildings. She was one of the first who thought of something like that. Jane believed the cities were not about buildings, but about the people. What was so awesome is that she cared so much about the people. She knew that government wanted everything their way and she did not approve of that. Now there are walks around the world for her. 

Leave a Reply

